Hospitals in

Hospitals in England

National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery

The National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery (informally the NHNN, The National or Queen Square) is a neurological hospital in London, United Kingdom and part of the University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. It was the first hospital to be established in England dedicated exclusively to treating the diseases of the nervous system.
It is closely associated with University College London (UCL) and in partnership with the UCL Institute of Neurology , which occupies the same site, is a major centre for neuroscience research. It supports the Sir William Gowers Epilepsy Assessment Unit at the National Society for Epilepsy Centre at Chalfont St Peter, Buckinghamshire. The NHNN also runs The National Hospital Development Foundation, a charity dedicated to supporting the Hospital for the funding of equipment, buildings and research.
The hospital is located on Queen Square in the Bloomsbury area of Central London.

The hospital was founded in 1859 and originally called The National Hospital for Diseases of the Nervous System including Paralysis and Epilepsy. It was merged in 1948 with the Maida Vale Hospital for Nervous Diseases (originally called The London Infirmary for Epilepsy and Paralysis), which in turn owed its foundation in 1866 to a German, Julius Althaus (1833–1900). Great neurologists of the time worked at The National, including John Hughlings Jackson, David Ferrier, MacDonald Critchley, Charles-Édouard Brown-Séquard, William Allen Sturge (discoverer of the Sturge-Weber syndrome), Sir Roger Bannister and many others.
The hospital became part of University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust in 1996.

To View more Hospitals in England Click Here